About Us

Dr Izanee

Welcome to OUM, the premier open and distance learning (ODL) institution in Malaysia!

Established in 2000, OUM is the country’s seventh private university. What is so special about OUM is that we are owned by a consortium of Malaysia’s first 11 public universities. This gives us the unique advantage of being able to benefit from the prestige and expertise of our stakeholders. For learners, this means we have the resources to make our programmes the best they can be, with input and contribution from subject-matter experts throughout the country.

OUM strives to be the university of choice for people looking for affordable part-time studies. With 22 years’ experience in ODL, we offer a learner-friendly, flexible and accessible approach to online learning to ensure that anyone can study from anywhere, and at any time, not just in Malaysia but from any location around the globe.

Quality matters to us too. Our programmes are career-relevant, accredited by the Malaysian Qualifications Agency, and recognised by various professional bodies. But this does not mean the enrolment process is difficult: even if you think you don’t qualify, APEL can open the door for you. If you want to give our learning materials a try first, head on to OER OUM and choose a topic that interest you.

Signing up is easy. You can do it online or visit one of our 35 learning centres located nationwide. Even if you are not in Malaysia, you too can register and enjoy what we have to offer.  So, do visit or reach out to us, and we would be happy to introduce you to OUM.

As OUM’s President/Vice-Chancellor, allow me to warmly welcome you to our learning community. The journey ahead will be an exciting and enriching one, and we will be there with you every step of the way.

Assoc Prof Dr Ahmad Izanee Awang

University Profile

In August 1999, the Minister of Education invited Multimedia Technology Enhancement Operations Sdn Bhd (METEOR), a consortium of 11 public universities in the country, to set up an open university.

This led to the establishment of OUM in August 2000 followed by its launch on 26 August 2002 by the then Prime Minister of Malaysia, YAB Dato’ Seri Dr Mahathir Mohamad. With the motto “University for All”, OUM believes in the democratisation of education, giving everyone a chance at self-actualisation and fulfilling their potential.

Shared Values

  • Integrity
  • Professionalism
  • Caring
  • Teamwork
  • Innovativeness


To be the Leading Provider of Flexible Learning


The OUM logo is derived from a combination of the letters “O” and “U”. These letters have been creatively styled in a round dynamic graphic form to express the concept of globalisation of knowledge through the open and distance learning (ODL) mode.

The University’s corporate colours of blue and silver portray a modern and progressive institution of higher learning. The slant in the logo illustrates the University’s continuous progress as one of the premier ODL universities in the world.


To widen access to quality education and provide lifelong learning opportunities by leveraging on technology, adopting flexible mode of learning, and providing a conducive and engaging learning environment at competitive and affordable cost.


YABhg Tun Jeanne Abdullah


YBhg Tan Sri Azman Hashim

Pro Chancellor

YBhg Tan Sri (Dr) Lee Lam Thye


YBhg Prof Dato' Dr Mohamad Kadim Suaidi

Vice Chancellor - University Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS)


President / Vice Chancellor - Open University Malaysia

YBhg Prof Datuk Ts Dr Ahmad Fauzi Ismail

Vice Chancellor - Universiti Teknologi Malaysia

YBhg Prof Datuk Dr Mohd Tajudin Md Ninggal

Vice President (Academic)

YBhg Assoc Prof Dr Ahmad Izanee bin Awang

President / Vice Chancellor

YBhg Prof Datuk Dr Mohd Tajudin Md Ninggal

Vice President (Academic)

YBhg Prof Dr Siti Aishah Hashim Ali

General Manager (Learner Experience and Technology)
AP Yon

Assoc Prof Dr Yon Rosli Daud

Deputy General Manager (Business Ventures)

Dr Mohd Nazri Mohd Noor


YBhg Prof Dato’ Ir Dr Mohd Hamdi Abd Shukor

(Chairman) Vice-Chancellor UM

YBhg Prof Datuk Ts. Dr Ahmad Fauzi Ismail

Vice-Chancellor UTM

YBhg Prof Dr Faisal Rafiq Mahamd Adikan

Vice-Chancellor USM
YBhg Prof Dato Dr Md Amin Bin Md Taff

YBhg Prof Dato Dr Md Amin Bin Md Taff

Vice-Chancellor UPSI

YBhg Prof Datuk ChM Ts Dr Taufiq Yap Yun Hin

Vice-Chancellor UMS

YBhg Prof Dato’ Ts Dr Mohd Ekhwan Hj Toriman

Vice-Chancellor UKM

YBhg Professor Emeritus Tan Sri Dato Dzulkifli Abdul Razak

Rector UIAM

YBhg Prof Datuk Dr Mohamad Kadim Suaidi

Vice-Chancellor UNIMAS

YBhg Prof Dr Mohd Roslan Sulaiman

Vice Chancellor UPM
YBhg Prof Ts Dr Hajah Roziah Mohd Janor

YBhg Prof Ts Dr Hajah Roziah Mohd Janor

Vice-Chancellor UiTM
CEO Meteor

YBhg En Mohammad Afiq Redzuan

Chief Executive Officer - Multimedia Technology Enhancement Operations Sdn Bhd (METEOR)